JC Torpey Portfolio Professional Freelance Writer

Personal Snapshot

Born in Tennessee and raised in Selden, L.I., NY, I adopted Philadelphia, PA, as my home after meeting my husband and settling down with my daughter and two cats.

As one of “those” kids, I’ve been through a lot, and walked a variety of paths in life. I’ve made some massive mistakes along the way, but through it all, I’ve learned a lot too…

…Such as who I was, who I am now, and how to like the person I’ve become. Who is that?

JC Torpey. A Goth at heart who picked up a healthy dose of Geek and a sprinkling of political junkie on my way through life. I’ve grown into my skin and, as thick as it is, racked up 23 tattoos and counting, many of which I’ve designed myself.

I wear my heart on my sleeve quite literally. Through these years, I’ve lived all over – even in Mexico, (Sí, ya leer y escribir en español).

I might be a City girl now, but I’ll never forget from where I came…

I’m a Lawn-Guylander, of course. I drink a ton of cough-fee in the mawnin, and sometimes with chorclet syrup. I used to waulk my dawg (who Dad named) Guido. He loved to swim in the worter at the beech. Living as a city girl, I still drink cough-fee every mawnin, but I put quorters in the meetah, and waulk by myself, mulling my dreams and ‘dears over in mah head.”

 

Professional Snapshot

Throughout my life, I’ve taken what I learned on the street and in the background, and did my best to put my best face forward. I received my GED in 1997, and immediately went into photo development, earning certificates from Kodak and getting OSHA certified when I began customer service and supervisory training.

I’ve learned many things from many people along the way – amassed a variety of skills and knowledge over the years.

Some of my background includes:

  • Customer service and business management – combined 18 years
  • Computer, general Information Technology specialist – just over 10 years
  • English as a Second Language tutor (English-Spanish) just over 12 years
  • Technical writing, online article writing, and blogging – just over 8 years
  • Writing and Editing; AP and Chicago styles
  • WordPress website management/Managing Editor – 8 years/2 years
  • Facebook page management – 6 years

Over the last decade, I’ve self-studied on multiple platforms, and have earned a variety of certifications in these same skill areas. Please ask for them.